skip to Main Content

Chair: Grace Lin
Assistant Chair: Vashti Harrison

The Original Art Jury 

Cozbi A. Cabrera is the author and illustrator of My Hair Is a Garden (Albert Whitman) and of Me & Mama (Simon & Schuster), which was named a Caldecott Honor Book and a Coretta Scott King Honor Book. She has illustrated notable titles by other authors, including Thanks a Million by Nikki Grimes (Greenwillow), Stitchin’ and Pullin’: A Gees Bend Quilt by Patricia McKissack (Random House), and the Coretta Scott King Honor Book and Sibert Honor Book Exquisite: The Poetry and Life of Gwendolyn Brooks by Suzanne Slade (Abrams). She’s also known for her textile art, including muñecas (cloth dolls) that have been featured on The Oprah Winfrey Show and The Martha Stewart Show. Visit:

Cátia Chien is a Brazilian Taiwanese illustrator of celebrated books for children, including The Bear and the Moon by Mathew Burgess (Chronicle), recipient of The Original Art 2020 Gold Medal and the 2021 Golden Kite Award, A Boy and a Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), an ALA Notable Book and the recipient of the Schneider Family Book Award, and Things to Do by Elaine Magliaro (Chronicle), an Ezra Jack Keats Honor Book. The latest title she has illustrated is The Longest Letsgoboy by Derick Wilder (Chronicle), about a dog’s journey with his foreverfriend, lovingly told by the dog himself, which proves that love abides beyond a lifetime, out of sight but never far away. Visit:

Saho Fujii is a senior art director at Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, where she stewards the picture book list. Over the years, she has worked with many talented authors and illustrators, including Jerry Pinkney on The Lion & the Mouse, Sophie Blackall on Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick, and Javaka Steptoe on Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, each of which won a Caldecott Medal, and LeUyen Pham on Bear Came Along by Richard T. Morris, which was a Caldecott Honor Book. Other award-winning illustrators she has worked with include Bryan Collier, Mordicai Gerstein, Molly Idle, Zachariah OHora, John Rocco, Naoko Stoop, and Ed Young. Visit:

Connie Hsu is Editorial Director at Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group that specializes in high-quality picture books, fiction, nonfiction, and graphic novels. Books she’s edited include the Caldecott Medal winner The Adventures of Beekle by Dan Santat, the Caldecott Honor book Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol, and the Sibert Medal winner Fry Bread by Kevin Noble Maillard, illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal. Other authors and artists she’s worked with include Angela Dominguez, Shannon Hale, Ekua Holmes, Pat Zietlow Miller, LeUyen Pham, Steve Sheinkin, and Tillie Walden. She’s a founding member of the Children’s Book Council Diversity Committee and a member of the Brooklyn Book Festival planning committee. Visit:

Juana Martinez-Neal is the illustrator of highly lauded picture books, including La Princesca and the Pea by Susan Middleton Elya (G. P. Putnam’s Sons), winner of a Pura Belpré Medal, and Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story by Kevin Noble Maillard (Roaring Brook Press), recipient of a Robert F. Sibert Medal, an AIYLA Picture Book Honor, and a Charlotte Zolotow Honor. She has also written and illustrated two noteworthy books. Alma and How She Got Her Name was a Caldecott Honor Book and an Ezra Jack Keats Honor Book and was selected for over 30 best books lists. And Zonia’s Rain Forest, was released in spring 2021 to starred reviews. (Both Candlewick.) Her most recent title is Tomatoes for Neela by Padma Lakshmi (Viking). Visit:

Duncan Tonatiuh is an author-illustrator whose work is inspired by Pre-Columbian art, particularly that of the Mixtec codices, and whose books have received multiple awards and honors. Among them, Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation received the Jane Adams Award, a Sibert Honor, an Américas Honor, and a Pura Belpré Honor. Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras received the Sibert Medal and a Pura Belpré Honor and was a New York Times Best Illustrated Book. Diego Rivera: His World and Ours received a Pura Belpré Award, and Danza!: Amalia Hernández and El Ballet Folklórico de México won an Américas Award. (All Abrams.) Visit:

Peter Van den Ende received the 2020 Dilys Evans Founder’s Award for The Wanderer, his first-ever picture book (Levine Querido). His stories are intended for people of all ages, and in his detailed illustrations, he transforms the things he admires, experiences, and desires into a highly imaginative alternative version of reality. He loves connotation and symbolism, and although he has an explanation for everything he draws, he prefers that his readers come up with their own interpretations. The Wanderer, created without words and with Escher-like precision, was described by Kirkus as “mind-blowing” and “marvelously engrossing—a triumph.” It was named a Best Book of 2020 by The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

Back To Top