skip to Main Content

The Lifetime Achievement Awards were established in 2005 by past chairs of The Original Art. Nominees must be judged to have a body of work that documents an innovative and pioneering contribution to the field of children's book illustration, and final selection is made by artists whose work has been juried into the previous year's show. Two awards are given annually: one posthumously and one to a living illustrator.

2022: Faith Ringgold
Faith Ringgold is a painter, mixed-media sculptor, performance artist, professor, and the author and illustrator of books for children. She grew up in Harlem during the Great Depression, surrounded by…
2022: Floyd Cooper
Floyd Cooper (1956–2021) had an unsettled childhood and attended eleven different elementary schools, but with each change, he sought and received support from his art teachers, who helped him find…

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Back To Top