skip to Main Content

The first of the two-part annual exhibition Illustrators 58 will be held at the Museum of American Illustration at the Society of Illustrators January 6 to January 30, 2016. The exhibit features works by leading contemporary illustrators worldwide, selected by a prestigious jury of professionals.

The first exhibit includes works in the categories of Institutional, Advertising, and Uncommissioned.

Institutional illustration includes work commissioned by an institution such as government services, in-house, or a corporation, and can be featured on announcements, annual reports, calendars, corporate projects, government service projects, greeting cards, newsletters, in-house publications, philatelic work and collectibles, stamps, work promoting a transportation authority or parks department, and work promoting a gallery. Gold medals are awarded to Jon Krause for “The Invisible Puppeteer” (NYU School of Medicine, AD: Johanna Savad), Merav Salomon for “Vote MA” (Alef Font House, TLV, AD: Avraham Corenfeld), and Joseph Veazey for “Adult Swim Tyrannic Poster” (Adult Swim). Silver medals go to Pablo Amargo for “Reading Time” (Grand Canary Island Library), Emiliano Ponzi for “Louis Vuitton World”, and Yuko Shimizu for “Deka Vs. Deka” (VAP, AD: Maximum The Ryo-kun, Keiichi Iwata).

Advertising illustration includes work created to sell a product, usually commissioned by an ad agency. Examples include consumer ads in magazines, newspapers, special supplements, television and web, billboards, point-of-purchase, and theater posters. Gold medals are award to Matteo Berton for “Let’s Get Lost” (Timberland, AD: Stefano Temporin), Leslie Herman for “Man + His Mistress” (Phish, AD: Julia Mordaunt), and Keith Negley for “A Familiar Mystery” (Vinyl Moon, AD: Brandon Bogajewicz), and to Paul Blow for his animation “Tony Iommi Fingers Bloody” (VH1, AD: Lindsey Riddle). Silver medals go to Jonathan Burton for “Beau Brummell Visits Fortnum + Masons” (Otherway, AD: Thomas Lacey), Edward Kinsella for “Vernacchio” (The Criterion Collection, AD: Eric Skillman), and David Plunkert for “Baltimore Theatre Project 2015-2015 Season” (Baltimore Theatre Project).

Uncommissioned pieces include all self-generated work. Gold medals are awarded to Tuna Bora for “Body Image”, Irma Gruenholz for “Butterfly Sucking”, and Meg Hunt for “Panic.” Silver medals go to John Cuneo for “FU”, Rumi Hara for “Igloo”, and Kadir Nelson for “Stickballers.” Bill Plympton is awarded a Gold medal for his animation “The Loneliest Spotlight”, and Red Nose Studio is awarded a Silver for his animation “Creosote”.

The Illustrators 58 will be exhibited throughout the entire building, including the 3rd floor Hall of Fame Gallery. An Opening Reception and Awards Gala will be held on Friday, January 8th.

Back To Top