skip to Main Content

The Society of Illustrators is pleased to present the second part of the three-part annual Comic and Cartoon Art Exhibit. Voted on by a prestigious group of professionals including publishers, editors, and artists, this year’s show features work by masters in the field alongside talented newcomers.

Gold and Silver medals are awarded to top pieces displaying high-quality technique, a strong narrative, and an interesting composition. Medals winners will also receive the M. Prize, a financial award given in memory of Timothy Patrick Moynihan. Gold medalists will each receive $200 and silver medalists will receive $100. An Opening Reception and Awards Presentation for all medal winners will take place on Friday, June 17th beginning at 6PM at the Society of Illustrators.

Art displayed in Part Two of the Comic and Cartoon Art Annual includes pieces in the Special Format, Comic Strip, and Long Form categories.

The Special Format category includes work that is design-driven and created with special attention to production values, including limited edition, small press, hand-made and artist’s books. A gold medal is award to Diana Schoenbrun for “A Walk in Brooklyn”. Silver medals go to Eitan Eloa for “The Bride Mother” and Loris Lora for “Eventually Everything Connects” (Nobrow).

The Comic Strip category includes any short-form work published in newspapers, magazines, books, online, etc. featuring four or more panels. Must be one page or less. A gold medal is awarded to Jim Torok for “The Picture of Dorian Grey”. Silver medals go to Matthew Foltz-Gray for “Spirit of the Staircase” (The Knoxville Mercury) and Julia Gfrörer for “For Thieves”.

Long Form includes work that is longer than 40 pages, such as graphic novels, comic books, etc. A gold medal is awarded to Carol Tyler for “Soldier’s Heart: The Campaign to Understand My WWII Veteran Father – A Daughter’s Memoir” (Fantagraphics). Silver medals go to Marc Bell for “Stroppy” (Drawn and Quarterly) and Jason Little for “Borb” (Uncivilized Books).

Featured Artists:

Sam Alden
Sarah Andersen
Art Baxter
Alexandra Beguez
Marc Bell
Gregory Benton
Ruben Bolling
Sam Bosma
Julian Callos
Kevin Cannon
Kevin Czapiewski
Christopher Darling
Matt Dembicki
Patrick Dorian
Rebekka Dunlap
Eitan Eloa
Glynnis Fawkes
Matthew Foltz-Gray
Julia Gfrorer
Lance Hansen
Asaf Hanuka
Tomer Hanuka
Graham Harrop
Glenn Head
Jay Hosler
Victor Hussenot
Laura Knetzger
Alex Kostiw
Peter Kuper
Sara Lautman
Jason Little
Loris Lora
Sacha Mardou
Felipe Muhr
David Nytra
Luke Ramsey
Sergio Garcia Sanchez
Diana Schoenbrun
Jen Sorensen
Jeremy Sorese
Nick Sousanis
Dylan Spencer
Craig Thompson
Tom Tomorrow
 Jim Torok
Carol Tyler
Joan X. Vazquez
Kriota Willberg
Jo Yeh
Lior Zaltzman
Paul Zdepski
Back To Top