skip to Main Content
Loading Events
Loading Events

< All Events

  • This event has passed.

Illustrators 65: Advertising, Institutional, Uncommissioned, Surface/ Product Design, and Animation

January 11 - February 11

The Museum of Illustration at the Society of Illustrators is proud to present Illustrators 65, an annual exhibit featuring the most outstanding works of the year by leading contemporary illustrators worldwide. Voted on by a prestigious international jury of renowned illustrators, art directors, and designers, the Annual provides a platform to our global community to express, through illustration, the events and movements of our times. In a year of numerous challenges, documented through artists’ visual narratives, the Annual has become an important archive and reflection of recent history.

The Annual is broken up into two shows. Part One features work in the Advertising, Institutional, Uncommissioned, Surface/Product Design, and Animation categories. Gold and silver medals were awarded by the jury to the top pieces in each category.

Part One of the Annual will be on display from January 11 through February 11, 2023. Part Two will be on display February 15 through March 18, 2023.

Tickets can be purchased online to view the gallery. Walk-ins are also welcome! Entry to museum is free for Society of Illustrator Members.

An Awards Ceremony is scheduled for Friday, January 27. More information can be found here >

Illustration in the Advertising category includes work created to sell a product, usually commissioned by an ad agency. Gold medals are awarded to Yadi Liu for Fall into the Heaven (Client: Naughtybook); Xiran Luo for Weather Forecast (Client: Xiaojing Wang); and Victoria Tentler-Krylov for Maison Close Menu Cover (Client: Maison Close LLC | AD: David Bombaux). Silver medals are awarded to Francesco Ciccolella for Wien (Client: Vienna Tourist Board | AD: Irmgard Steiner); Liv Garber for Beatnic (Client: Beatnic); and Max Loeffler for A Lost Memory By Another Self (Client: Wieden+Kennedy / Meow Wolf | AD: Amy Carleton, Sarah Starr). 

Illustration in the Institutional category includes work commissioned by and for an institution such as government services, in-house, or a corporation. Gold medals are awarded to Tatsuro Kiuchi for Google Doodle (Client: Google | AD: Angelica McKinley, Erich Nagler); Wing Sze Wincy Kung for Bamboo Craft Festival (Client: The Hong Kong Polytechnic University); and Andrea Mongia for AFRICA READS: Author’s Interpretations From The Continent (Client: Doctors with Africa CUAMM). Silver medals are awarded to Marcos Chin for Art Is (Client: School of Visual Arts | AD: Gail Anderson and Brian Smith); Jon Krause for Putin’s Upheaval (Client: UVA Lawyer | AD: Mary Wood); and Ryo Takemasa for Cover Illustrations For TKC Magazine (Client: TKC National Federation).

Illustration in the Uncommissioned category includes all self-generated work such as portfolio samples, sourcebook ads, and uncommissioned stock that are currently unpublished except as promotion for the artist or artist’s representative. Gold medals are awarded to Marc Burckhardt for The Crossing; Donald Kilpatrick III for The Detroit Cityscape; and Katerina Voronina for Where Do We Go? Silver medals are awarded to Kume Pather for Hollow Crown; Jason Raish for FIT Black Student Illustrators Award 2022; and Toma Vagner for DISORDERS

Illustration in the Surface/ Product Design categories include work appearing in three-dimension. Gold medals are awarded to Emily Eldridge for POP! Paint Our Parks (Client: SCAD Serve); Zilong Su for Random Combo Wine Label Series; and Mojo Wang for Kiehl’s Year of Tiger (Client: Kiehl’s | AD: Yumiko Takagi, Travis Cain). Silver medals are awarded to Paul Hammond for Space Puffins (Client: Banished Brewing, Paradise Newfoundland); Subin Yang for Desk Yoga Deck (Client: Chronicle Books); and Luca D’Urbino for Anima e Corpo (Client: Heracles Gymnasium | AD: Renato de Donato). 

And new this year! The Animation category features illustrated animations created for short films, commercials, documentaries, websites, games, apps, book launches, music videos or any other outlets. Gold medals are awarded to Brian Britigan for The Whitewashing of Missouri (Client: Detour and The Missouri School of Journalism | AD: Ron Stodghill); Yuval Haker for Zelle – The Science Behind Scams (Client: Zelle | Team: Written, produced, edited and sound designed by the amazing team at Vox!; Animation Director, Illustrator: Yuval Haker; Producers: Jennifer Vance, John Bega; Additional Design: Elena Chudoba, James Dybvig, Maddie Edgar;  Animation: Hao Li, Hozen Britto, Joe Sparkes, Alex Potts, Arthur Guttilla, Mark Abbott, Jean Yu, James Dybvig; Clean up: Lily Shaul, Zohar Dvir; Compositors: Pavelas Laptevas, Alon Sivan; Storyboards: Dana Roth, Elena Chudoba, James Dybvig, Yuval Haker; Sound Design: Vox Media, Dana Roth); and Sam Lee for Sunlight. Silver medals are awarded to Gui Athayde for The Essence of Being Queer; Meijia Xu for A Car Advertisement Without A Real Car- IM What I AM (Client: IM Motors | AD: 3Water Li); and Loulou Luyao Yan for Your Hidden Friends (AD: Jungin Yun). 


January 11
February 11
Event Category:


At the Society
128 East 63rd Street
New York, NY 10065 United States
Back To Top